Adventure. Excitement.

by Streen

In The Empire Strikes Back, Yoda has something interesting to say:

I remember when my mentor Mitth first took me on as an apprentice, and how excited I was.  I had no idea what I was getting into or how that single decision would change the rest of my life.  There was nothing wrong with my excitement though, because I was setting off on an adventure I knew nothing about.  As an apprentice, such things like adventure and excitement are not only permissible, they are necessary.

 It is when we mature, after experience with the Force and life’s challenges, that such things begin to fall away.  It took me about 10 years after my initial training to learn peace and serenity in the face of drama, be it positive or negative.  For some it takes less time, and for some it takes longer.

 The reason Yoda scoffs at such aspects of life is that a Jedi is meant to maintain a calm demeanor, so as to react with clear thinking when events take place.  At first this may seem like a boring way to approach life, but given time, you may see how that calm and peace are preferable to a life of ups and downs.

 There is power in peace.  When you reach out with your feelings and touch the Force, you will find a mighty tranquility, an emptiness like the space inside a cup.  It is that emptiness that allows all things to flow into it, and with it, you will find reserves of strength and energy like you never knew before.

This entry was posted in Geen categorie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment